Rationale for Establishing the Association for East Asian Environmental History (AEAEH)

More than twenty scholars doing East Asian environmental history participated in the First World Congress of Environmental History convened by the International Consortium of Environmental History Organizations (ICEHO) in Copenhagen and Malmo during August 4-8, 2009. Because East Asia is not well represented among the current members of ICEHO, many of us who joined in a discussion during the conference agreed to form an association and named it the Association for East Asian Environmental History (AEAEH).

The AEAEH is an organization of individual members engaged in doing research on East Asian environmental issues with historical perspectives. Scholars from fields related to environmental studies, such as history, archaeology, literature, ethics, anthropology, geography, demography, economics, sociology, law, biology, ecology, agronomy, nutrition, medical science, public health, meteorology, geology, and engineering (energy, hydrology, municipal engineering), are all welcome to become members. Interdisciplinary approaches will be emphasized and within the sphere of East Asia a wide temporal span will be covered. Comparative studies, of course, will also be encouraged.


President of AEAEH

Prof. Satoshi Murayama 村山聡 was elected the new President of the Association for East Asian Environmental History (AEAEH) by the General Meeting of the Association on 26 October 2013 for a two-year term (2013-2015). Prof. Murayama is to succeed Dr. Ts’ui-jung Liu 劉翠溶 who served as the first President of AEAEH during 2011-2013.


Council of AEAEH

Seven members of AEAEH were elected for the Council of AEAEH during the General Meeting of the Association on 26 October 2013. They are:
Prof. Lihua Wang王利華(Nankai University)
Dr. Andrea Janku (SOAS, University of London)
Prof. Michael Shiyung Liu 劉士永(Academia Sinica)
Dr. Ts’ui-jung Liu 劉翠溶(Academia Sinica)
Prof. Philip Brown (The Ohio State University)
Prof. J. Donald Hughes (University of Denver)
Prof. David Bello 貝杜維(Washington and Lee University)


AEAEH Bylaws

Copyright © Academia Sinica 2015