Rationale for Establishing the Association for East Asian Environmental History (AEAEH)

More than twenty scholars doing East Asian environmental history participated in the First World Congress of Environmental History convened by the International Consortium of Environmental History Organizations (ICEHO) in Copenhagen and Malmo during August 4-8, 2009. Because East Asia is not well represented among the current members of ICEHO, many of us who joined in a discussion during the conference agreed to form an association and named it the Association for East Asian Environmental History (AEAEH).

The AEAEH is an organization of individual members engaged in doing research on East Asian environmental issues with historical perspectives. Scholars from fields related to environmental studies, such as history, archaeology, literature, ethics, anthropology, geography, demography, economics, sociology, law, biology, ecology, agronomy, nutrition, medical science, public health, meteorology, geology, and engineering (energy, hydrology, municipal engineering), are all welcome to become members. Interdisciplinary approaches will be emphasized and within the sphere of East Asia a wide temporal span will be covered. Comparative studies, of course, will also be encouraged.


President of AEAEH

Prof. Buhm Soon Park (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology) was elected the new President of the Association for East Asian Environmental History (AEAEH) by the General Meeting of the Association on 10 September 2021 for a two-year term (2022-2023). Prof. Park is to succeed Prof. Akihisa Setoguchi who served as the sixth President of AEAEH during 2020-2021.

Vice President of AEAEH

Prof. Manyong Moon (Jeonbuk National University) was appointed as the Vice President of AEAEH for a two-year term (2022-2023).

Council of AEAEH

Nine members of AEAEH were elected for the Council of AEAEH during the General Meeting of the Association on 10 September 2021. They are (alphabetical order by last name):
Lisa M. Brady (Boise State University)
Xiaohong Chao 鈔曉鴻 (Xiamen University)
Shen Hou 侯深 (Peking University, Beijing)
Jongmin Lee (University of Science and Technology, Korea)
Xueqin Mei 梅雪芹 (Tsinghua University)
Manyong Moon (Jeonbuk National University)
Koji Nakashima 中島弘二 (Kanazawa University)
Federico Paolini (Università della Campania Luigi Vanvitelli)
Akihisa Setoguchi 瀨戶口明久 (Kyoto University)


Asian Association for Environmental History Founding Committee, AEAEH

On 10 September 2021, it was decided at the General Meeting of the Association that the association would be renamed as the “Asian” Association, covering the whole range of Asian and also Oceanian regions. The Founding Committee, launched on 27 October 2019, was endorsed to continue its activities for another two years. The committee will continue to be chaired by Professor Emeritus Satoshi Murayama 村山聡 (Kagawa University) and has been mandated with the task of drawing up new bylaws and a new organizational structure for the renewed Association to be presented for discussion and decision at the next General Meeting at EAEH 2023.

Committee Membership List (alphabetical order by last name)

  • Dr. Shen Hou, Professor, History Department, Peking University, Beijing, China.
  • Dr. Michael Shiyung Liu, Professor, University of Pittsburgh, USA / Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China.
  • Dr. Christof Mauch, Professor and Chair, Director, Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society, LMU Munich, Germany.
  • Dr. Jenia Mukherjee, Assistant Professor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India.
  • Dr. Satoshi Murayama, Co-Convener, International Consortium for Earth and Development Sciences, Kagawa University / Professor Emeritus, Kagawa University, Japan.
  • Dr. Donald Worster, Honorary Director of the Center for Ecological History at Renmin University of China, Beijing, China / Professor Emeritus, Kansas University, USA.


AEAEH Bylaws


Copyright © Academia Sinica 2022